top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureDana LaShay

US Events: The Shock Of It All.

It’s May. It’s May and there have already been 27 school shootings this year in the United States. There have been over 200 mass shootings. Just five months in. How does this keep happening and why does it seem to get worse and worse? The media would have you blame everything on mental health crises, but, while possible, it goes deeper than that. How would I know? Because I have had mental health crises and know where to get a gun.


I’m sure you just gasped at that info bomb, but there’s something to be said about self awareness. Because I know myself, I know I don’t want to be involved with guns. Of course, that only works when you know you have issues–it doesn’t work if you think you’re issue-free and walk around without talking to a therapist or anything like that. Anyone could snap. That’s just it. It’s not just about mental health, but the underlying issues that keep people from seeking the help they need.


There’s such a stigma surrounding mental health and the media blaming all the shootings on that doesn’t help. Especially when their mental health isn’t the problem. The problem is people are limited on education about mental health services and what their options are. The problem is people are judged so harshly for seeking help.


16 million. 16 million people aren’t getting the help they so desperately need. And something needs to give. Somewhere.



3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

SJ Blasko's TREE - A Review

To be honest, I was on the fence initially about accepting this book. It’s been so long since I’ve really read and enjoyed poetry, after all. Longer still since I wrote any of my own and that was when

Six of Crows - A Review

May Contain Spoilers. It took me a bit, but I finally sat down to read it and every time I had to put it down, part of me cried. The Grishaverse is definitely addictive, like jurda parem. I actually d

Black River Lantern - A Review

POSSIBLE SPOILERS I won a book. On Goodreads. It came last week and even had a signature on the title page and a letter inside. A personal touch. It was nice. I finally got the chance to read it and I

bottom of page