top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureDana LaShay

SJ Blasko's TREE - A Review

To be honest, I was on the fence initially about accepting this book. It’s been so long since I’ve really read and enjoyed poetry, after all. Longer still since I wrote any of my own and that was when I was really into reading it. Something in me told me to give it a chance when I read the description. I’m glad I did.


There’s nothing for me to go over as far as the technical workings that I usually talk about in my reviews, so this is a little different for me. I’ll focus on the emotions that sprung to life.


“Stars” was my favorite. The raw emotions and what it’s like dealing with them really hit home for me. I don’t deal with my emotions well, and this kind of made me feel like I was not alone in that. Anxiety is definitely one of my “hissing, spitting creatures” and I loved the personification of these feelings.


Each poem brought some new feeling and I found myself almost reading them aloud. Almost. I was definitely “getting into” it.


I really enjoyed the growth and knowledge of the narrator as their sexuality was first repressed then set free as detailed in “Eleutheromania.”


“Out of the Woods” was powerful and proof that you don’t need all the words for something to truly resonate with someone.


Overall, I highly recommend this collection. Actually, I did recommend this collection. Someone near and dear to me has been needing courage to live their true life, and I felt this collection of poetry would help them find that. Thank you, SJ Blasko. You truly are a phenomenal storyteller.



2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

US Events: The Shock Of It All.

It’s May. It’s May and there have already been 27 school shootings this year in the United States. There have been over 200 mass shootings. Just five months in. How does this keep happening and why do

Six of Crows - A Review

May Contain Spoilers. It took me a bit, but I finally sat down to read it and every time I had to put it down, part of me cried. The Grishaverse is definitely addictive, like jurda parem. I actually d

Black River Lantern - A Review

POSSIBLE SPOILERS I won a book. On Goodreads. It came last week and even had a signature on the title page and a letter inside. A personal touch. It was nice. I finally got the chance to read it and I

bottom of page