top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureDana LaShay

Six of Crows - A Review

May Contain Spoilers.





It took me a bit, but I finally sat down to read it and every time I had to put it down, part of me cried. The Grishaverse is definitely addictive, like jurda parem.


I actually don't really have any negative notes for this book - there were a few instances of telling over showing, but nothing severe. Would I have liked more show? Yes. Am I mad about the story? Not even a little.


This book offered the representation that many fail to have. There was round and curvy Nina. There was disabled Kaz...and even Wylan. There was the wonderfully done sexuality of Jesper. And their different ethnicities within their world. It intertwined in a way that was subtle enough to not throw it at you, but not bold enough that it was clear - discrimination and hatred was frowned upon. It was beautiful.


As for the story itself, I'm pleased to say that it surprised me so many times. I thought for sure that certain parts were the truth and it twisted back. Looking back, so many things should have been obvious but weren't because I was so wrapped up in the story, I wasn't seeing what was there.


I'm definitely curious what can happen next, especially given Nina's condition. And what's going to happen with Wylan now? I can't wait to see.

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

US Events: The Shock Of It All.

It’s May. It’s May and there have already been 27 school shootings this year in the United States. There have been over 200 mass shootings. Just five months in. How does this keep happening and why do

SJ Blasko's TREE - A Review

To be honest, I was on the fence initially about accepting this book. It’s been so long since I’ve really read and enjoyed poetry, after all. Longer still since I wrote any of my own and that was when

Black River Lantern - A Review

POSSIBLE SPOILERS I won a book. On Goodreads. It came last week and even had a signature on the title page and a letter inside. A personal touch. It was nice. I finally got the chance to read it and I

bottom of page